Some rules about ride the sharing e-scooters in UK

Since the beginning of this year, there have been more and more electric scooters (e-scooters) on the streets of the UK, and it has become a very popular means of transportation for young people. At the same time, some accidents have been happened. In order to improve this situation, the British government has introduced and updated some restrictive measures


Private electric scooters cannot be ridden on the street

Recently,the use of electric scooters in the UK is in the trial phase. According to the British government website, the rules for the use of electric scooters only apply to the rental part used as a test (that is, sharing electric scooters). For privately owned electric scooters, they can only be used on private land that is inaccessible to the public, and permission from the land owner or owner must be obtained, otherwise it is illegal.

In other words, private electric scooters cannot be used on public roads and can only be used in their own yard or private places. Only the sharing e-scooters can be driven on public roads. If you use the electric scooters illegally, you may get these penalties– fines, reduce the driver’s license score, and the electric scooters be seized.

Can we ride the sharing e-scooters without the driver’s license?

The answer is yes. If you don’t have the driver’s license, you couldn’t use the sharing e-scooters.

There are many kinds of the driver’s license, which one is suitable for the sharing e-scooters? Your driver’s license should be one of the AM/A/B or Q, then you can riding the sharing e-scooters.In other words, you must have a motorcycle driver’s license at least.

If you have an overseas driver’s license, you can use an electric scooter in the following situations:

1. Own the valid and complete driver’s license of European Union or European Economic Area (EEA) countries/regions(As long as you are not prohibited from driving low-speed mopeds or motorcycles).

2. Hold a valid driver’s license from another country that allows you to drive a small vehicle (for example, a car, moped or motorcycle), and you have entered the UK within the past 12 months.

3.If you have lived in the UK for more than 12 months and you wish to continue driving in the UK, you must change your driving license.

4.If you have an overseas temporary permit driving certificate, a learner driving permit certificate or equivalent certificate, you cannot use an electric scooter.


Does the electric scooter need to be insured ?

The electric scooter need to be insured by the operator of sharing e-scooters.This regulation only applies to sharing e-scooters, and does not involve private electric scooters for the time being.

What are the requirements for dressing?

You’d better wear a helmet  when you riding the sharing e-scooter(It is not required by law).Make sure that your helmet meets the regulations, is the correct size, and can be fixed. Wearing light-colored or fluorescent clothing so that others can see you during the day/in low light/in the dark.

wear helmet

Where can we use the electric scooters?

We can use electric scooters on roads (except highways) and bicycle lanes, but not on sidewalks.Besides,In the places with bicycle traffic signs, we can use the electric scooters (except for signs prohibiting electric scooters from entering specific bicycle lanes).

Which areas are the test areas?

The test areas as below shows:

  • Bournemouth and Poole
  • Buckinghamshire (Aylesbury, High Wycombe and Princes Risborough)
  • Cambridge
  • Cheshire West and Chester (Chester)
  • Copeland (Whitehaven)
  • Derby
  • Essex (Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Chelmsford, Colchester and Clacton)
  • Gloucestershire (Cheltenham and Gloucester)
  • Great Yarmouth
  • Kent (Canterbury)
  • Liverpool
  • London (participating boroughs)
  • Milton Keynes
  • Newcastle
  • North and West Northamptonshire (Northampton, Kettering, Corby and Wellingborough)
  • North Devon (Barnstaple)
  • North Lincolnshire (Scunthorpe)
  • Norwich
  • Nottingham
  • Oxfordshire (Oxford)
  • Redditch
  • Rochdale
  • Salford
  • Slough
  • Solent (Isle of Wight, Portsmouth and Southampton)
  • Somerset West (Taunton and Minehead)
  • South Somerset (Yeovil, Chard and Crewkerne)
  • Sunderland
  • Tees Valley (Hartlepool and Middlesbrough)
  • West Midlands (Birmingham, Coventry and Sandwell)
  • West of England Combined Authority (Bristol and Bath)

Post time: Nov-16-2021